Will you please get out of the bird poo??

Image

Yesterday we decided to take a trip to the mall as a family unit. When we arrived at the mall Robert and I decided to once again try to get Silas to walk. This decision was mostly made because I had taken his stroller out of the truck and forgot to put it back in. I took Silas out of his seat and placed him on the ground. He immediately dropped to his knees and began to wail. I really wanted to pick him up because it just so happened I parked the truck under a tree where it was bird poo haven. He was basically rolling on the ground.

I tried multiple times to get him to hold my hand like he does when we go for walks at home but he wasn’t having any of that. He just kept putting his arms up so that he could be picked up. I tried reasoning with him but I am pretty sure he didn’t hear me over his own yelling. I was getting frustrated and about ready to pick up Silas. It was really bothering me that he was in bird poo. That is absolutely disgusting and I am a clean freak. Robert then offered his assistance. I continued to walk away to see if Silas would follow me. He did…but scooting across the poo covered ground on his hands and knees.

As I was almost to the door of the mall a family passed me. They saw Silas making a scene by the truck but they didn’t see Robert standing on the other side of the truck. They looked at me like what the hell woman! I just smiled and they kept walking and glancing back at me. Robert tried multiple times to get Silas to walk from the truck but in the end Silas won the battle.

Tear covered cheeks, a snotty nose, and outstretched arms met me a few minutes later at the door. I ended up carrying Silas into the mall and to the play area where he played for a while.

It is very frustrating to have a child that refuses to walk anywhere in public. We have tried so many different things on numerous occasions to get Silas to walk with us. He won’t even walk from the truck to the door of the house. I sat by the door watching him slowly scoot towards it for 45 minutes one day because I refused to pick him up and he refused to walk. He is by far the most stubborn individual I have ever come across in my life and that’s saying something because I am up there.

So, what have we tried? Let’s see…tough love, rewards, reasoning, persistence, compromise, ignoring, and more. We are at the point now to where we just do not know what to try next. I am going to talk with his therapists to see if we can have one of our sessions next week at a public place. Perhaps they have some technique or idea that we haven’t tried before.

Silas is fully capable of walking in public; he just chooses not to.  There could be many reasons for him not wanting to such as an unfamiliar place, fear, sensory issues, and more. I personally feel that he knows if he pitches a fit long enough and makes a scene we will break down and give him what he wants. I think tomorrow I am going to take him to a store that has basically no one in it and tell the management what I am doing. That way I can take as long as I want and no one will think I am abusing Silas when he starts acting like a maniac.

We will enter into another battle and see who can outlast who. I do have a feeling I will eventually give up but I am hoping for the best. It is starting to get ridiculous that he still wants to ride in the kid seat of the buggy in Walmart or be carried if he can’t. I’m tired of people staring at us and making comments that he is a little big to be sitting there, though I don’t really care what others think. I will write again tomorrow when we return from the battlefield to let everyone know who won. Until then, stay strong…

 

About Tomonica

Hi, I'm Silas' mom and this blog is simply to document our journey with autism. There will be topics such as how our journey began, what certain aspects of autism are, therapies, successes and failures, as well as sometimes just my craziness. I hope you enjoy reading this and perhaps learn something useful.

Posted on January 20, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I realize it is a continuing battle, but in the end it will be well worth it. Let others look, that’s ok too! He will come around to your way of thinking eventually. I know you won’t give up and will continue to push him to “get-er-done!”

Leave a Reply

