Public Walking Battle #1

So who won?…Not me! But I did put up a good fight at least…

I took Silas to the store least likely to call the cops on me for child abuse or neglect. As we pulled into the parking space I told Silas we were going for a walk. Once I took him out of the truck and put him down he hit the ground like a sack of potatoes. We went through the typical tantrum of not wanting to walk from the truck to the door of the store. I just stood there and watched him. People came and went trying to act like they were not paying too much attention to us. I could see and feel their beady eyes mean mugging us. I finally got tired of arguing with Silas in the parking lot after about 30 minutes and took him inside.

I made it to a more secluded area of the store and put him down again. He hit the floor like he was the victim of a drive-by shooting. I haven’t ever seen someone drop it like it was hot so fast. I assured people around us that he was fine and they kept on shopping. I tried so many different things to get him to walk with me.

He got the jelly legs real quick. Every time I would stand him up his legs would go all limp. I almost dropped him on his face the first time because I expected him to at least stay up for a second. I grabbed his hands and made him “jump” while being all excited and he just got louder. I am glad at the time I found it sort of amusing rather than annoying. After those attempts didn’t work, I walked away. My hopes that he would stand up to come to me were crushed when he started crawling 25ft in the middle of the store dripping snot and tears all over the place. I just sat down in the middle of the aisle and waited on him.

We spent almost an hour and a half fighting each other. In the end I figured he had had enough and put him in a buggy. I grabbed a few items and we left. He may have won this battle, but the war isn’t over. I will get him to walk in public with me.

About Tomonica

Hi, I'm Silas' mom and this blog is simply to document our journey with autism. There will be topics such as how our journey began, what certain aspects of autism are, therapies, successes and failures, as well as sometimes just my craziness. I hope you enjoy reading this and perhaps learn something useful.

Posted on January 22, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m very proud of you for being so diligent, patient and loving in working with Silas! Consistency in working with him and not giving up will eventually make the difference. I’m praying that he will soon be able to understand it’s ok and that you will be able to discover what precipitates the jelly leg behavior. Loving you all…. AM

Leave a Reply

