Don’t Judge Me

Silas is quite the walking partner as long as we are out in the open with few people around. This morning I let him choose the route of our outdoor excursion. He chose for us to walk all the way to the park which is half a mile away. That is a long way for him and I was very impressed. He led the way and pushed the crosswalk buttons for us.

While at the park, I was sitting down next to another couple watching him play. This couple was dressed in their “Sunday best” and looked kind of snootily at me in my jeans and Air Force basic training shirt. That didn’t bother me though. The thing that did bother me was a comment they made about my child.

While playing Silas tripped in front of the couple and they saw that he was wearing a diaper. I saw their look of disdain at him and then at me. They made comments to each other thinking they were talking quiet enough so I would not hear, “he looks a little big to still be wearing a diaper.” Here’s the kicker…once they saw Silas flapping up on the play structure they loudly told their children to stay away from Silas. Everyone at the park looked at me…

Politeness was definitely not my approach to this situation though it should have been. There are certain times when I can control my emotions and my mouth but this was not one of those times. I informed the couple they are hypocrites for judging my child and I based off of observations and making such negative comments. I politely let them know that “their God” would not approve of such conduct and they should be ashamed of themselves. I’m not a religious person but I do believe in a higher power and treating others as you would want to be treated.

I explained to them why Silas is still in a diaper and why he behaved the way he did. Though I felt they didn’t even deserve the explanation I wanted to make sure they didn’t do this to someone else. That really hurts when people are so quick to judge but even more so when they put their thoughts into speech. After I finished exploding on them they quickly rounded up their children and raced away from the park. Other parents clapped; I just shook my head.

It is really bothersome that there are so many people who are so brainwashed into what is “normal” that they are negative towards others who do not conform to that idealism. Anyone who doesn’t fit into this mold should be shunned. The worst thing is that these adults are doing this in front of their children. This gives the children the perception that this is acceptable behavior and prejudices. These children will of course fall in the path their parents have laid out before them and continue this same exact behavior.

If you haven’t noticed the quote at the top of my page, take a moment once you finish reading this to read it and ponder exactly what it means.

574678_360224607358018_121323091248172_931205_2131164315_n_large

Judging-a-person-motivational-pictures

HardBattle

About Tomonica

Hi, I'm Silas' mom and this blog is simply to document our journey with autism. There will be topics such as how our journey began, what certain aspects of autism are, therapies, successes and failures, as well as sometimes just my craziness. I hope you enjoy reading this and perhaps learn something useful.

Posted on January 27, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. As always I am in awed at the perception of other people. i didn’t realize how much of that goes on until I hear it from you and what you go through. I WILL think twice before opening this mouth at other childrens activities. I hope this encourages others to do the same. Standing up for you and yours is always a good thing in my book. I pat myself on the shoulder everytime I read the progress you have made. I love you….Madre

Leave a Reply

