Doing work!

Today was such a good day for my sweet man. He had a pizza party and cookies at daycare with his friends for Valentine’s Day. Then at therapy he did absolutely amazing!

success

I went today and got him a few new things to see if I could find something that he is interested in, which is quite a hard task. I got him a hotwheels race loop that shoots cars and two monster trucks that go by themselves. Silas loved all of them. I also got him some duplos with a story book for jungle animals. He didn’t quite know what to think of that yet.

The therapist and I introduced the hotwheels stuff when we started our session. Silas was immediately drawn in which was super exciting. He was pushing the cars and making them crash. This is one of the items he is currently on – to push cars. Today, he mastered it. He not only played with the cars but he was playing with the monster trucks I got him as well. He was making them ramp off of the couch and giggled like a fool when they hit the floor. I am super giddy about this because I used to love playing cars with both of my nephews and now I can do it with Silas too. Imaginative play here we come!

Another item Silas is working on is identifying pictures of mommy and daddy. The therapist decided to try to get him to do this task a different way today. She held up my picture to Silas and said, “Who is this?” Silas excitedly shouted “Mommy!”. We were jumping up and down and cheering like we had just won the lottery. Next she held up daddy’s picture and said the same thing. Silas responded “Daddy!” We were so excited. This is the first time that he has done this in therapy without being prompted first. He got 5/5 for expressive on the first try which is super amazing.

The therapist also introduced a new picture today into the random rotation of pictures – crayons. “You color with…crayons!” All Silas has to do for the beginning is receptive; just touch the picture. I have been working on this with Silas at night and he knew the answer…”Crayons!” His therapist fell out her seat with shock. That’s right. J She was very impressed. Silas got 5/5 for both receptive and expressive today.

Feeling optimistic, the therapist tried one more picture – dog. “What says woof woof?…dog!” Silas wasn’t as into this picture since it was the first time he had seen it. He got 5/5 for receptive on this one. Overall, he was very successful today. I even got him to stack two blocks 3x with me. He was on a roll!

Oh and towards the end of therapy he was pretending! I got him one of those blow up bop things that you hit and it pops back up. Well, he was pretending that it was getting him and would fall over and the therapist would say, “Ohhh nooo! Are you okay?” It was super cute and he thought it was hilarious.

Everyday Silas makes progress and just leaves me in awe. I find it amazing how many little things he picks up/decides to finally do daily. It may not seem like big accomplishments to others but to me and Robert, these are huge! What a wonderful Valentine’s Day ❤

About Tomonica

Hi, I'm Silas' mom and this blog is simply to document our journey with autism. There will be topics such as how our journey began, what certain aspects of autism are, therapies, successes and failures, as well as sometimes just my craziness. I hope you enjoy reading this and perhaps learn something useful.

Posted on February 14, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Moni, your posts are always so interesting, uplifting, informative and right from the heart. They touch my heart and open my eyes to the amazing things Silas can do and will do with yours and Roberts support! Let me know if there is anything I can do to support or help. I keep you all in my prayers! Love you! AM

Leave a Reply

