First Friend Birthday Party

Image

Today Silas attended his first birthday party for a friend. The party was at Mountain Mike’s Pizza. The place had an entire room with different kinds of bounce houses and slides. I thought for sure that Silas would love it; I was wrong. It wasn’t so much the inflatable wonderlands that bothered him. It was the loud 3-5 year olds running around and crowding him. I was able to get him to go down the slide with me twice before we gave up on it. The last time it was a tear fest.

Luckily, there were plenty of arcade games there. Silas found one of those claw machines and became entranced with it. He loved watching the claw move back and forth. His favorite part was getting to say ready, set, go and then push the button to make the claw drop. We may not have been able to get any of those stuffed animals out of there but he didn’t care. We spent the majority of our play time at this one machine, and that was quite alright.

When it came time to eat pizza we started off at the kids’ table. This didn’t last long. Silas was quick to get upset and so we had to move to a booth a little bit away. He ate and paced back and forth in the corner happily flapping away, oblivious to what was going on around him. Silas was happy with this but it was rather saddening for Robert and me. It is tough seeing all of the other children doing what children do at birthday parties and then see Silas, being Silas. I know he has no idea of the concept of what a birthday party is so we have to keep that in mind. That is still tough though.

Silas soon started to get upset and restless as we waited for his friend to open her presents. I thought that by now I would be used to people staring at us when Silas gets loud and whines. Nope, still bothers the hell out of me. All of the other parents that were there have children that attend the same daycare as Silas so they all know he is autistic. The birthday girl is actually the daughter of the woman that runs the daycare. Some watched as I tried to calm Silas and others tried to act like nothing was happening.

We waited long enough for the birthday girl to open the present from Silas and then said our goodbyes. Even though the experience was far from what I hoped it would be for Silas it was much better than how I expected it to go. As I have said before, I no longer have high expectations for how situations might play out. I try my best to take it blow by blow. It still hurts though. This has been a tough experience, not just including today, and will continue to be. As long as Silas has both Robert and me I know he will pull through just as he always does. We all will. 

About Tomonica

Hi, I'm Silas' mom and this blog is simply to document our journey with autism. There will be topics such as how our journey began, what certain aspects of autism are, therapies, successes and failures, as well as sometimes just my craziness. I hope you enjoy reading this and perhaps learn something useful.

Posted on March 15, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Just always remember that he does have both you and Robert. This will keep him going and get him through all the times when he is not able to do them by himself. Everyday, Everytime will get better for all of you. Keep strong for yourself and for my “Sweetman”. Mom

  2. I think all three of you did awesome! Repetition is the key! Remember how many times it took for Silas to walk in the mall or grocery store, but he did it!. Or how many times he needed to repeat the visits of the therapists before he was comfortable with it, but he did it!. Repetition is the key. Kid’s birthday parties are really just a lot of chaos and there are a lot of kids (with and without Autism) that will gravitate to the edges of chaos where they are able to tolerate it. I would much rather be on the edges than in the middle of “chaos”. Keep up the awesome work helping Silas understand how to navigate in this world.

Leave a Reply

