WTF is going on here?!

I’m looking at this guy like “What in the hell are you doing?…NOTHING. And that’s the problem.”

It is very frustrating and angering to me that someone who is supposed to be an ABA therapist could be so nonchalant, uncaring, and unprofessional about things. One of our therapists, the male, has been performing his duties far below subpar. He hasn’t even been coming close to acceptable.

First of all, he isn’t running the programs correctly, if at all. I know this for a fact because I am a very involved parent and pay close attention to what is going on during therapy. I have been watching how the other seasoned therapist, who trains all the new therapists for the company, has been running the programs. I ask lots of questions to make sure I understand why things are being done the way they are.

When I correct the male therapist on how the program should be done he blatantly ignores me and continues doing it incorrectly. He does not keep Silas involved or maintain his attention when he is involved. I have noticed on numerous occasions he sits there and just watches Silas play instead of playing with Silas and building rapport; which he so obviously lacks. I have also caught him playing on his phone during shift which is a big no go.

Over the past few weeks this male therapist has been talking about trying to find another job. More and more he has been leaving early from his shift for various reasons. Last Thursday all he could talk about was that he got another job and put in his two week notice. He also lied to me. When he arrived on shift he told me that he had gotten approval from his boss to leave at 5:30 to pick up his daughter. I wouldn’t have cared even it were true because life happens. But when I spoke to his boss yesterday about his performance recently I mentioned this. His boss had no idea he had been leaving early because on his timesheets he has been putting that he was here the entire shift every day!!!

The way things are supposed to go is if one of the therapists has to leave early they are supposed to clear it through their boss and the company. Then, their boss will call or text me. This hasn’t been happening. This therapist is currently here and I have been taking detailed notes about what he is doing during shift. Like, minute by minute action. That way I can clearly explain to his boss why I do not want him to come back. He only has 3 sessions left with us but I do not want nor need him wasting our time.

It is very difficult for me to be civil with someone who is clearly disrespectful and dishonest. In fact, he isn’t doing hardly anything as it is right now so I’m about to tell him to leave. Can you see how my temper may be heating up? 

Image

About Tomonica

Hi, I'm Silas' mom and this blog is simply to document our journey with autism. There will be topics such as how our journey began, what certain aspects of autism are, therapies, successes and failures, as well as sometimes just my craziness. I hope you enjoy reading this and perhaps learn something useful.

Posted on March 18, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Actually, I can see the CoonAss coming out real quick, especially when it comes to Silas. This therapist does not need to be “helping” anyone being dishonest and not performing the job as instructed. I am glad that you are so involved in Silas’ care to make sure he gets the quality care he should. Keep watching and taking care of our little man….Mom

    • Apparently he was doing the same thing with other families but none of them had spoken up. I wasn’t going to stand by and let him waste all of our time. My baby always comes first!

Leave a Reply

