Giving Medicine

Giving my child medicine almost seems impossible most of the time. Until recently, I have had a full on battle royal on my hands. Medication time was like Ronda Rousy vs. Georges St-Pierre. If there was a way to escape my attempts Silas could find it. It did not matter if I was holding him down, sitting on him, or anything else. You could bet that the majority of the medicine I was trying to give him was not going into his mouth. I did not even attempt at using a spoon or that nonsense cup that comes with most medicines. Nope, a syringe was the tactic suggested by his pediatrician the first time I mentioned giving him medicine was a problem.

This worked for a while but now that Silas is older, bigger, and much stronger I have now run into issues again. I am not a big woman. At 3 ½ Silas is already over half my size (thanks daddy!). My futile attempts at administering medicine have gone on to be unsuccessful.

To combat this, I started searching the Internet for other options. I have found the perfect one; mixing the medicine with a drink. This both covers the taste of the medicine and eliminates the syringe. Why the hell didn’t I think of that myself?? Now, medicine time is a breeze. There is always a drink that a medicine can be mixed with to cover the taste. If you have a child you are having trouble giving medicine to I suggest trying this. It has worked wonders for us!

 Image

About Tomonica

Hi, I'm Silas' mom and this blog is simply to document our journey with autism. There will be topics such as how our journey began, what certain aspects of autism are, therapies, successes and failures, as well as sometimes just my craziness. I hope you enjoy reading this and perhaps learn something useful.

Posted on April 25, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

