Good Day

Today was a fun and relaxing day for Silas. Despite having a cold, he was in a great mood. It has been raining here all day which is unusual considering we are going through a drought. When I realized that it was pouring outside I opened the window so that Silas could see it. He stood in front of the window flapping with excitement. I had forgotten how long it has been since he had seen rain. We put on our jackets and went outside to take it all in.

Silas sat in my lap on the front porch watching the rain for about 30 minutes until it stopped. We talked about all the things we saw and he repeated everything I named. I brought out his little chairs from his table and we ate a snack while the rain picked up again. We played cars and even went into the rain for a second. Silas wasn’t too fond of the cold rain which was hilarious watching him run from it. We stayed outside for about a total of 2 hours.

I really like the fact that he enjoyed being outside and did not want to go in the house. Usually it is a fight to get him to do anything outside other than jumping on the trampoline, which is why we went out the front door.

Tonight he surprised me again by taking a bath with me. When Silas was little he used to take baths but ever since we moved into the house we are in now he has always taken showers. Not quite sure why that is but tonight he decided to try it out with me again, At first he was pretty unsure about the whole thing and sat on my lap. Daddy brought us Captain Hook and Spider Man who were then repeatedly thrown into the deep end of the tub. I did the voices of them begging not to be thrown and then screaming while they sank. This ended up being pretty amusing for Silas and I was able to slowly move him into the tub so that he was sitting by himself. By the end of the bath I had to tell Silas it was time for him to get out and pull the plug since he kept saying he didn’t want to get out.

Every day he surprises me more and more with the little things he does.

About Tomonica

Hi, I'm Silas' mom and this blog is simply to document our journey with autism. There will be topics such as how our journey began, what certain aspects of autism are, therapies, successes and failures, as well as sometimes just my craziness. I hope you enjoy reading this and perhaps learn something useful.

Posted on October 25, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

